Kevin Mcmahon | music director and conductor

Home   /   Concerts   /   Program Notes

Program Notes

Program notes are written by Dr. Joseph Milicia.

February 26, 2018

March 10, 2018 Program Notes

March 10, 2018 Program Notes Thumbnail

*FRANZ VON SUPPÉ* Born Split, Croatia, 18 April 1819; died Vienna, 21 May 1895. *Poet and Peasant Overture* Composed 1846 and first heard in the Theater an der Wien, Vienna, 24 August of that year, the composer conducting. Tonight’s performance features flute, piccolo, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, bass drum, cymbals, harp and strings. Duration about 10½ minutes.

Read the full post

January 18, 2018

February 3, 2018 Program Notes

February 3, 2018 Program Notes Thumbnail

Tonight’s program takes us to four very different places in musical history. Haydn’s “Surprise” Symphony, written at the end of the Age of Enlightenment, is full of wit and elegance, gracefully balanced in structure. Weber’s Freischütz Overture, written only 30 years later, plunges us into the heart of the Romantic Age, with scenes of gothic terror and impulsive love. Another 80 years takes us to the Impressionism of Debussy’s moody sketches of the open sea (La Mer). And one more century later, at the turn of the 21st, Theofanidis’ Rainbow Body mixes contemporary sounds with echoes of a medieval monastery.

Read the full post

November 27, 2017

December 9, 2017 Program Notes

December 9, 2017 Program Notes Thumbnail

*Christmas Treasures, 2017 *

Read the full post

October 30, 2017

November 11, 2017 Program Notes

November 11, 2017 Program Notes Thumbnail

ANTONIN DVORAK Born Nelehozeves, Bohemia (now Czech Republic), 8 September 1841; died Prague, 1 May 1904. *Slavonic Dance No. 1 in C major, Op. 46, No. 1. *Dvorak’s first set of eight Slavonic Dances was composed in 1878; No. 1 was first heard in Prague at a concert for the Association of Czech Journalists, 16 May 1878, Adolf Čech conducting. The work is scored for piccolo, flute, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets. 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, timpani, bass drum, triangle, cymbals, and strings. Performance time is about 4 minutes. The SSO performed it 18 November 1995, Guy Victor Bordo conducting.

Read the full post

September 25, 2017

October 7, 2017 Program Notes

October 7, 2017 Program Notes Thumbnail

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Born Salzburg, Austria, 27 January 1756; died Vienna, 5 December 1791. *Symphony No. 36, in C major, K. 425 (“Linz”)* Written in Linz, Austria and premiered in that city 4 November 1783. The score calls for 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani, and strings. Duration about 25 minutes. The SSO played the ‘Linz’ Symphony most recently with Guy Victor Bordo conducting, 17 November 2001.

Read the full post